The SpeedyBackup Recover feature allows you to easily go back in time to a prior revision of your saved work. You can right-click a backed-up file or use the Recover page in the program to restore an older version.

Recover a previous version of your saved work by right-clicking a file:

  1. Right-click directly on the backed-up file and choose Recover older file versions.
  2. Click the version you wish to recover. The version number and date of revision are listed.
  3. To overwrite the most current version of the file, select Recover and click Yes. You can retrieve the version you are overwriting by repeating these steps again. To choose a different location to restore the file, click Recover to new path. Select a folder in the next screen and click OK.


Search and recover older versions using the Recover page:

  1. Open SpeedyBackup and click Recover.
  2. In the left panel, select My SpeedyBackup to search the entire backup, or select any folder to search only that folder.
  3. In the search bar above, type the file name or file extension you are looking for.
  4. Press Enter or click the magnifying glass icon. The Search Results appear in the right panel.
  5. Select the file and click the Recover old version button. You can also right-click on the file.
  6. Click the version you wish to recover. The version number and date of revision are listed.
  7. To overwrite the most current version of the file, select Recover and click Yes. You can retrieve the version you are overwriting by repeating these steps again. To choose a different location to restore the file, click Recover to new path. Select a folder in the next screen and click OK.

By default, licensed SpeedyBackup accounts can only restore the most recent version of a file. You can obtain an upgrade if you would like to retrieve previous versions of files, up to and including original versions.

To add previous versions to your account:

  1. Select My Files from the left-hand side of SpeedyBackup.
  2. Click Add New Features from the right hand side of the screen.
  3. Navigate to the Add Unlimited Previous Versions feature, and click Upgrade.
  4. Proceed with checkout.